Share this:

Like this:

Like Loading...
" />
Published On: Fri, Jan 26th, 2018

Gamji FC emerges winner of 2018 Monrovia Kaduna South Peace Soccer Trophy

Share This


Gamji FC subdued hard fighting FC Porto 3-2 to win the second edition of the Honourable Monrovia Peace Soccer Cup for Kaduna South Local Government Area.
Coach of the team, Sanusi Abubakar aka Tigana however, said the semifinal game where they narrowly edged Lucky Stars of Television Village was more challenging and was to them like the final.
He said that the Television Village team fielded several league players and his side were lucky to have escaped with victory from that game.
Tigana said that after finishing at the fourth spot last year, they went all out to improve on their skills, a move that has paid off.
Also speaking to newsmen, FC Porto coach, Abdulakeem Ayofe blamed lack of concentration from his boys for their loss to Gamji FC.
He said his players were not coordinated and failed to play according to instruction and have paid dearly for that be finishing second.
“My players scored first but were unable to sustain the game they started with by losing concentration and we have paid dearly for that,” he said.
Speaking further, he said they have learnt from their mistakes and would be better in future competitions.
In his remarks, sponsor of the competition, Honourable Ahmed Mukhtar Monrovia praised the teams for their spirit of sportsmanship.

He also commended the organisers for a job well done in ensuring the competition was a huge success.

Speaking further, he thanked the youth of Kaduna South LGA for recognising his contributions to the society and calling on him to contest and represent them at the House of Representatives in 2019.

High point of the competition was the presentation of trophies, medals and prizes to the four top teams.

Cash prizes of N100, 000, N70, 000 and N50, 000 were presented to first, second and third teams respectively. A total 34 teams participated in the competition.

Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

%d bloggers like this: