Share this:

Like this:

Like Loading...
" />
Published On: Wed, Jul 24th, 2019
SPORT | By new

Four teams secure promotion to Nigeria Professional Football League

Share This

Four teams from the Nigeria National League (NNL) have secured promotion to the Nigeria Professional Football League (NPFL) following victories recorded in their play-off ties.
The lucky four that would be campaigning in the elite division next season are Akwa Starlet, Warri Wolves, Jigawa Golden Stars, and Adamawa United.
They would be taking the places of Niger Tornadoes, El-Kanemi, Yobe Desert Stars and Bendel Insurance who were relegated from the NPFL last season.
Akwa Starlets secured a historic promotion to the NPFL following their massive 3-0 win over Shooting Stars at the Stephen Keshi Stadium, Asaba.
Many had tipped the Oluyole Warriors to get the promotion ticket but they were blown aside by the Akwa Ibom-based team.
Akwa Ibom now has two teams in the NPFL as Akwa United are also in the top division.
In another keenly-contested tie on Monday, Warri Wolves needed the lottery of penalty kicks to beat Dynamite FC 5-3 at the Nnamdi Azikiwe Stadium, Enugu
Both teams had played a barren draw all through the regulation period.
Warri Wolves were relegated from the elite cadre in 2016 and they go back up after three years in the lower cadre.
Delta State now also boasts of two Premier League clubs as Delta Force are also in the NPFL.
Elsewhere, Jigawa Golden Stars had to hold their nerves to beat NAF FC 3-2.
Jigawa had taken a three-goal lead before their Abuja-based opponent attempted a comeback.
With Monday’s victory, Jigawa Golden Stars are returning to the NPFL after a seven-year absence.
In the last match of the day, Adamawa United did just enough to beat FRSC 2-1 to seal their promotion to the NPFL.
Adamawa United last featured in the top division in 2006 and they would be excited with this long-awaited comeback to the NPFL.

Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

%d bloggers like this: