Share this:

Like this:

Like Loading...
" />
Published On: Thu, Aug 21st, 2014

FG confers NEMA, 15 compatriots with merit award

Share This

By Mohammed Kandi

The Federal Government has conferred a Merit award of Productivity on fifteen individuals and organisations including the National Emergency Management Agency (NEMA), Kano state ministry of Agriculture and Natural Resources as well as the Katsina State Primary Health Care Development Agency.

The occasion, which also witnessed presentation of award plagues and certificates signed by President Goodluck Jonathan, yesterday in Abuja, was in commemoration of the 14th National Productivity Day celebration.

Represented by Vice President Muhammad Namadi Sambo, President Jonathan congratulated the awardees and informed that they were being rewarded for their inspirational work and commitment to excellence in their productive ventures and advised them not to relent in their service to the nation.

Jonathan said his administration had approved a national policy on productivity in 2012.” the first in our country’s history,” the President said, adding “This policy seeks to provide for all tiers of government, a systematic and comprehensive road map, a charter for ensuring a planned and balance economic deployment of materials and human resources for the benefit and common good of all Nigerians.”

He added that, “The full implementation of this policy must now be

accorded priority by the Federal Ministry of Labour and Productivity and the National Productivity Centre.”

In his remarks, the Minister of Labour and Productivity, Chief Emeka Wogu, who expressed his satisfaction with the event, asserted that the country was already benefiting from Federal government’s policies on productivity.

Those who received the merit awards include Alhaji Bukar Goni Aji, the former Head of Civil Service of the Federation, Lt. Gen. Chikadibia Obiakor (rtd), former General Commandant 2 Mechanized Division of the Nigerian Army and the Treasurer, Association of Civil Servants in Gombe state, Hajiya Aishatu Abdulkadir.

Others are the new Minister of Aviation, Osita Chidoka, Vice President of the Nigeria Labour Congress (NLC), Comrade Issa Aremu, and Prof. Adisson Wokocha, who is the President, Committee of Provost of Collage of Education, amongst others.

Expressing his delight over his agency’s recognition for the merit award, the Director-General of NEMA, Muhammad Sani Sidi, said, “. The public should therefore expect greater performance, greater commitment and dedication.”


Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

%d bloggers like this: