Share this:

Like this:

Like Loading...
" />
Published On: Mon, May 5th, 2014

Federation Cup: FRSC beats FC Abuja to emerge winner

The Federal Road Safety Corp (FRSC) yesterday beat FC Abuja 1-0 at Old Parade ground in Abuja to emerged winner of the FCT Federation Cup.

The coach of the FC Abuja Usman Ilerika, who before the game dubbed his team as giant killers, said the team lost the crucial match gallantry.

“We lost to a better side, my boys played very well to my instructions but the goals were not forth coming, hope is not loss because we will still meet them or other teams at the national level. FC Abuja and FRSC are carrying the flag of the FCT at the national level, “he said.

Peoples Daily Sports gathered that FC Abuja qualified from the group stages, knocking out some big teams in the Nigeria National League (NNL) along the way.

They defeated NNL side, TEAP FC 3-1 in the round of 16 and also edged out another NNL team, Supreme Court FC 4-2 on penalties after a 1-1 score line at the end of regulation time in the quarter-finals.

FC Abuja went ahead to knock out the defending champions, NAF FC in the semi-finals played on Saturday beating their Nigeria Nation-Wide League (NNWL) counterparts 2-1 to reach the final of this year’s edition.

The Coach also said that the beauty of the cup competition was that it gives clubs like FC Abuja the opportunity to be giant-killers.

Meanwhile, the Coach of FRSC FC Uche Okagbu commended his boys for playing according to instructions of the technical crew that eventual brought the trophy.

“The trophy an achievement for us because these are second trophies my team has won, we won pre-season and Federation Cup within one year, “he said.

Peoples Daily Sports report that the climax of the competition were the presentation of certificates to participated teams and fifteen thousand Naira to the highest goals scorer by the big moments sports agency chief of operation in Nigeria, group captain Patrick Akosubo (Rtd)


Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

%d bloggers like this: