FCT: Gwagwalada chair re-elected for second term

By Usman Shuaibu

The incumbent chairman of Gwagwalada Area Council in the Federal Capital Territory (FCT), Mr Adamu Mustapha Danze, has won the Saturday Area Council chairmanship election conducted by INEC in the area.
The Returning Officer in charge of Gwagwalada, Prof. Sani Saka who announce the results of the election said Mr. Mustapha Danze polled 21,960 votes to defeat the Chairmanship candidate of Social Democratic Party (SDP), Mr. Abubakar Jibrin Giri who has 14,105 votes.
He said: “I Professor Sani Saka hereby certified that I was a Returning Officer for the Gwagwalada Chairmanship election held on the 9th of March, 2019 that the election was contested, that Adamu Mustapha Danze of APC having satisfied the requirement of the law and scored the highest number of votes is hereby declared the winner and returned elected”.
However, the breakdown of the election results across the ten electoral wards in Gwagwalada are; in Gwagwalada central ward APC polled 2711 votes; SDP has 1978 votes, in Gwako ward APC polled 1367 votes; SDP has 2587 votes , in Quarters ward APC polled 1978 votes; SDP has 769 votes, in Kutunku ward APC polled 2318 votes; SDP has 1528 votes and Paikon ward APC 1653 votes while SDP polled 989 votes.
Other election results from the electoral wards include; in Ibwa ward APC got 2265 votes; SDP polled 761 votes, in Dobi ward APC has 4604 votes; SDP polled 1936 votes; in Zuba ward APC scored 1837 votes; SDP has 1302 votes, in Tunga-Maje ward APC got 1701 votes; SDP has 1790 votes and in Ikwa ward APC scored 1546 votes while SDP got 465 votes.
Some of the electorates who spoke to our correspondent after the election alleged that the election was characterized by irregularities in some wards, especially Dobi ward.
Similarly, in Abaji Area Council, the incumbent Chairman, Alhaji Abdulrahaman Ajiya had emerged as the winner of the Saturday election in the area, while in Kuje and Kwali area councils the elections were declared inconclusive.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *