Share this:

Like this:

Like Loading...
" />
Published On: Mon, Jan 1st, 2018

FCT FA sets 2018 Football Agenda

Share This

By Albert Akota

The Board of the FCT Football Association has approved the creation of an elite Football League in the Territory to be known as the FCT SUPER LEAGUE, with only 12 teams participating in the inaugural edition.
Rising from its 2017 End of the year Board meeting held in Abuja, the Board said that the League will be played on weekly basis to keep participating teams busy all through the season, with the Champions representing FCT in the Nigeria Nation Wide League Division 3 play off.
In a Communiqué release at end of the meeting signed by the Vice Chairman of the Association, Patrick Ngwaogu, a second tier League was also created to be known as the FCT DIVISION 1 LEAGUE. This will be played among clubs that registered for the league, in which two teams will gain promotion to the Elite division at the end of every season, while same number will be relegated from the Elite League.
The Board also approved the creation of an Inter Area Councils Girls’ Primary Schools Football Competition. This they said is further facilitate the development of Women Football in the Territory, and to further expand the FCT Women League that the maiden edition was played in 2017. The FA promised to liaise with the leadership of all the National League teams in the Territory to chart a positive way forward for the clubs in the new season.
The Board agreed to consolidate on the gains recorded in the various competitions organized in 2017, and resolved to engage in an aggressive sponsorship drive to fully support its programs in the New Year.
To actualize these programs, the Board reconstituted five of its standing committees to effectively drive home this task. The reconstituted committees are the Marketing and Sponsorship Committee to be headed by Godwin Bamigboye, Organizing Committee to be headed by Patrick Ngwaogu , Media and publicity Committee to be headed by Kayode Adeniyi, Technical and Development Committee to be headed by Godwin Bamigboye and Youth Development Committee to be headed by Zakari Musa.
The Board was full of appreciation to the leadership of the FCT Administration for supporting most of its programs and providing it with the enabling environment to carry out its activities. They thanked the Sports Department of the FCTA , and that of the Secondary Education Board for the support rendered in the organization of the various competitions in 2017.
The members passed a vote of confidence on Alhaji Musa Talle and his leadership qualities, while congratulating the NFF for leading the Super Eagles to emerge as the first African team to qualify for the 2018 World Cup holding in Russia. They urged the Football body to ensure that the team prepared adequately for the Mundial.
They called on Corporate bodies to embrace the activities of the Association, saying that the future of football development in the country lies in the grassroots.

Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

%d bloggers like this: