Share this:

Like this:

Like Loading...
" />
Published On: Fri, Apr 27th, 2018

FCT-APC, stakeholders endorse Buhari for 2019

Share This

By Stanley Onyekwere

As the race for the 2019 general elections hots up, the bigwigs of All Progressives Congress (APC) and other stakeholders in the Federal Capital Territory (FCT) endorse the second term bid of President, Muhammadu Buhari.
This was disclosed after a stakeholder meeting on Wednesday, Director-General, Voice of Nigeria (VON), Osita Okechukwu, Secretary FCT Education Secretariat, Senator Isa Maina and serving lawmakers led the gathering of APC bigwigs in the Territory to move for an endorsement of Mr. President.
In particular, Honourable Zephaniah Jisalo, member representing FCT North seconded the proposition as all speakers indicated that the endorsement was based on the land mark achievements of the President’s administration.
Speaking to newsmen on behalf of the party leaders and FCT residents, at the conclusion of the session, Senator Sidi Ali, an elder of the party in the FCT, said, the decision was because of the need to consolidate on the gains of the Change Agenda.
“On behalf of all the citizens of the Federal Capital Territory (FCT) and the ruling party, the All Progressives Congress, (APC), I would like to state that we have deliberated and resolved to endorse President Buhari’s bid for a second term in office.
“Mr. President has been endorsed by the citizens of the FCT as well as the APC because of the need to consolidate on the gains of the Change Agenda, and we are going to work and make the necessary sacrifices for the success of Mr. President, because he has implemented the programmes and manifestos of our party,” he explained.
Articulating other resolutions of the Party, the FCT Minister, Malam Muhammad Musa Bello expressed delight at the successful conclusion of the meeting stating that the members were happy that Mr. President has agreed to go for a second term.
He espoused for unity in the party, saying “APC is a party of rules and regulations as exemplified in the character of Mr. President. It is consequently determined to ensure the democratic process in the selection or affirmation of the leadership of the party during its forthcoming congresses. They would be done in a fair, open and transparent manner.”
He stated that the forthcoming party congresses would still follow the zoning principles enshrined in the constitution of the party and that members resolved to adopt the principles of peaceful resolution of differences and consensus building during the caucuses.
The FCT Minister welcomed other people who are interested to join the party, saying that the party has room for everybody, while calling for sacrifices and support of the FCT residents as the party works to launch the country on the path of growth.
Earlier, the FCT-APC Chairman, Alh. Abdulmalik Usman, reeled out the achievements of the Party under his leadership which include advancing the gains of his party from one Area Council Chairmanship stool in the previous elections to five in the last polls.
He added that it includes a dominance of the dosing ranks and ensuring that the forth coming congresses were conducted in a democratic atmosphere bereft of rancour.
The meeting which was the first since the appointment of mandate Secretaries, Political Aides as well as Heads and Board members into the FCT Administration’s executive stable was an opportunity to introduce some new faces in the FCT APC caucus.
Some of the new ones include Comrade Kayode Opeifa a former Commissioner for Transport in the Lagos State Government who is now the Secretary Transport in FCT, Hon. Stanley Nzekwe, a former Chairman of Local Government in Imo State and House of Assembly members among others.
Other participants at the meeting include all National Assembly members representing FCT, Area Council Chairmen and Mandate Secretaries and political aides.

Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

%d bloggers like this: