Share this:

Like this:

Like Loading...
" />
Published On: Thu, Nov 21st, 2019

Fashola honours 48 most outstanding staff

Share This

By Mashe Umaru Gwamna

The Minister of Works and Housing, Babatunde Fashola has awarded 48 most outstanding members of staff of the ministry for productivity and diligence in service delivery.
Fashola made the disclosure yesterday at the 2018 Recognition and Reward Ceremony organised for staff of Ministry of Power Works and Housing in Abuja, noting that the ministry deemed it fit to reward members of staff who were outstanding in doing their jobs.
He said the essence of the award was to inspire work harder, that brings about healthy competition and increase more productivity.
According to him :”We should always look after our environment; let us own the environment and space,we work there, so we need to improve it not only for ourselves but for all Nigerians”.
The minister further said that, the success of any government depended on the input of civil servants.
He said “if civil servants were committed to carrying out their duties diligently it would impact positively on productivity which evolves the economy “
Fashola maintained that civil and public servants were one per cent that decided what happens to the remaining 99 per cent of the large population.
He said”the 100 million jobs to be created by the President Buhari’s led Administration was not for the government alone but a call to duty by all Nigerians. ‘’Those people whom you will never meet but who by act of fate pass through a place you help to build may earn their living from there. It may be schools, roads and hospitals. This implies that whatever you are doing, let’s do it well for others to benefit.”
While congratulating the recipients, he encouraged other staff to emulate them and join hands together to move the nation forward.
Earlier, Permanent Secretary Ministry of Woks and Housing, Muhammed Bukar who was represented by the Acting, Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Power, Ahmed Abdul, in his opening remarks stated that award was an important tool in the public service rule to motivate and reward excellent performance of staff in ministries, departments and agencies (MDAs)
Muhmmade explained that the major objectives of the reward was to motivate staff of the ministry towards achieving greater productivity and performance, influence personal commitment and proper conduct.
Meanwhile,the Acting Head of the Civil Service Dr. Mrs. Folashade Yemi-Esan
represented by the Chairman Federal Civil Service Commission and the Commissioner for Osun and Oyo State, Engr. Fatai Olapade said that the reward for diligence and hard work was clearly stated in Chapter 15 of the Public Service Rule.
Yemi -Esan said” the award was given to staff to motivate them to put in their best based on merit and fairness.”
Responding on behalf of his fellow awardees, the Director Highways Planning and Development Engr. Chukwubuikem Uzor who bagged the award as the most outstanding director of the year 2018 in the Ministry thanked the Minister, thanked the Permanent Secretary for initiating the idea of recognition and award for deserving staff of the Ministry.
The categories of award given were, Most Outstanding Director of the Year, Best Performing Senior Staff Award, and Most Hardworking Junior Staff Award. In all a total of 47 officers from Power, Works, & Housing Sectors were awarded.

Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

%d bloggers like this: