Share this:

Like this:

Like Loading...
" />
Published On: Thu, Jan 10th, 2019

Falcons reign supreme at CAF African Awards

Share This

By Albert Akota

Nine time African champions, Super Falcons emerged the Women’s National Team of the Year at the 2018 AITEO-CAF African Football Awards held on Goree Island, near Dakar on Tuesday night.
It was the fourth time the Super Falcons would pick up the diadem, following earlier wins in 2010, 2014 and 2016. Last month in Ghana, Nigeria’s Women National Team won the Women Africa Cup of Nations for the third successive time and ninth time overall.
For the second year running, the bog occasion for rewarding performers in the game on the African continent was bankrolled by Nigeria’s leading energy solution company, AITEO also the Official Optimum Partner of the Nigeria Football Federation.
Two Heads of Government, in President Macky Sall of Senegal and President George Weah of Liberia, turned up, joined by FIFA President Gianni Infantino, CAF President Ahmad, FIFA Secretary General Fatma Samoura (a Senegalese), CAF 1st Vice President/NFF President Amaju Pinnick, CAF 2nd Vice President Constant Omari and CAF 3rd Vice President Fouzi Lekjaa.
There was also the full complement of the membership of CAF Executive Committee, legends of the game from across the African continent, members of the diplomatic corps and world renowned artistes who put up magnificent performances.
Pinnick picked up the Super Falcons’ award, presented by four –time winner of the Woman Player of the Year, Perpetua Nkwocha. Nigeria legends Emmanuel Amuneke (winner of the Player of the Year in 1994), Nwankwo Kanu (winner in 1996 and 1999), Victor Ikpeba (winner in 1997) and the daughter of late Rashidi Yekini (winner in 1993) joined the Legends XI parade that also included President Weah (the 1995 World, European and African Player of the Year), Patrick Mboma (Cameroon), El Hadj Diouf (Senegal), Frederick Kanoute (Mali), Didier Drogba (Cote d’Ivoire), Samuel Eto’o Fils (Cameroon) and Mohamed Salah (Egypt).

Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

%d bloggers like this: