Share this:

Like this:

Like Loading...
" />
Published On: Thu, Dec 10th, 2020

Europe 2022 World Cup Qualifiers: England battles Poland, Italy v Switzerland

Share This

Former World champions, England will face Poland while Italy vs Switzerland are some of the top matches to look out for as the 2022 World Cup qualifying race begin in March next year in Europe
The 1966 World Cup winners, England will also play Hungary, Albania, Andorra and San Marino in Group I of the qualifiers released Monday
In the pairing made available, Wales will meet Belgium, who they knocked out of Euro 2016, in Group E. Northern Ireland have been drawn with Italy, Switzerland, Bulgaria and Lithuania in Group C.
Scotland will face Denmark, Austria, Israel, Faroe Islands and Moldova in Group F.
The Republic of Ireland will come up against Cristiano Ronaldo’s Portugal in Group A, as well as Serbia, Luxembourg and Azerbaijan.
The qualifiers will take place between March and November 2021, with play-offs scheduled for March 2022.
The Group Pairing
Group C: Italy, Switzerland, Northern Ireland, Bulgaria, Lithuania
Group E: Belgium, Wales, Czech Republic, Belarus, Estonia
Group F: Denmark, Austria, Scotland, Israel, Faroe Islands, Moldova
Group I: England, Poland, Hungary, Albania, Andorra, San Marino
The 10 group winners in qualifying will secure their place at the tournament while the 10 group runners-up will go through to the play-offs, along with the two best Nations League group winners who do not finish in the top two of their World Cup qualifying group.
The 12 play-off teams will be drawn into three separate play-off paths, each of which will comprise semi-finals and final, with the three winners heading to Qatar.
Thirty-two teams will take part in the World Cup in Qatar, of which 13 will be from Europe.
Because of Qatar’s intense summer heat, this World Cup will be held from 21 November to 18 December 2022, making it the first not to be held in May, June, or July.
It is set to be played in a reduced timeframe of 28 days.
Thirty-two teams will compete in eight venues in five host cities to succeed reigning champions France.

Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

%d bloggers like this: