Share this:

Like this:

Like Loading...
" />
Published On: Wed, Dec 4th, 2019

Emefiele, Tinubu, others bag Aljazirah governance award

Share This

By Albert Akota

The National Leader of All Progressive Congress (APC), Senator Ahmed Bola Tinubu, the Governor of the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN), Godwin Emiefele, and Governor of Kebbi State, Abubakar Bagudu Atiku, are set to lead a host of other awardees at the maiden edition of AljazirahNigeria Good Governance and Man of the Year and Democratic Icon awards respectively.
Other awardees on the stable are Lt. Gen. Yusuf Tukur Buratai, Symbol of National Security, and governor of the Year, North-west, respectively.
The award also recognises governors and legislators from each of the six geo-political zones, Brand, Company, Administrator, Public Servant and Federal agencies and Institutions of the year.
Speaking on the awards, the chairman of the Award Committee, Abdulgafar Yousef Badawi, said “It is pertinent for us as a media house and as an ombudsman of the society to commend those Nigerians and organisations that have done exceptionally well in their endeavours, so as to encourage others to aspire to greatness knowing that their efforts would not go unnoticed.
“We are not only about writing about the ills of society, but we also let the world know those who do well.”
Agencies and companies on the award list include: National Deposit Insurance Commission, NDIC, Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, Niger Delta Power Holding Company, NDPHC; Tertiary Education Trust Fund, TetFund; BUA Group, Zenith Bank.
Governors of the year include: Ifeanyi Okowa of Delta State, Chief Willie Obiano of Anambra State, Rotimi Akeredolu, SAN of Ondo State, Darius Dickson Ishaku of Taraba State, and Simon Lalong of Plateau State.
Legislators of the Year from each geo-political zone are: Hon. Beni Lar, Hon. Nkeiruka Onyejeocha, Sen Magatakarda Wamakko, Sen. Abubakar Kyari, Senator Matthew Urhoghide, and Sen. Solomon Olamilekan Adeola.
Others who made the list are: Hon, Ajilesoro Taofeek Abimbola, and clerk to the National Assembly, Muhammed Ataba Sani Omolori.
According to Yousef Badawi, AljazirahNIgeria decided to go round each of the geo-political zones because there are governors and legislators who have written their names in gold in each of the zones,
The award committee was made up of members of the editorial team, as well as other Nigerians drawn from the civil society and political sectors.

Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

%d bloggers like this: