Share this:

Like this:

Like Loading...
" />
Published On: Tue, Mar 11th, 2014

Ekiti guber: Olowoporoku, 2 others face PDP Appeal C’ttee

Share This

By Lawrence Olaoye

Three aspirants disqualified by the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) Screening Committee at the weekend are to appear before the party’s Appeal Committee chaired by Senator Mohammed Magoro.

Those three aspirants jostling for the party’s governorship ticket for the June gubernatorial election in the state but disqualified by the Senator Victor Ndoma-Egba Screening Committee include Senator Bode Olowoporoku, Mr. Peter Obafemi and Bosede Cecilia Dada.

The Ndoma-Egba’s committee had earlier cleared thirteen of the aspirants including Amb. Oluwadare Bejide, Navy Capt. Olubolade Caleb, Prince Adedayo Adeyeye, Ayodele Fayose, Adeyanju Bodunde and Erelu M. Ogundipe.

Others cleared to contest the election include Jacob Abiodun Aluko, Adewale Aribisala, Oladeji Omoyeni, Sen. Gbenga Aluko, Oluropo Ogunbolude, Dr. Omolara Adubiaro and Ajayi Ayodeji Eldad.

Citing reasons for the disqualification of the trio, Ndoma-Egba said Olowoporoku presented no tax clearance and could not present evidence of court ruling overturning his previous expulsion from the party.

Obafemi could not present his National Youth Service Corps (NYSC) certificate while Dada could not present evidence of payment of membership dues, West African School Certificate and had no tax clearance.

Briefing newsmen after the inauguration of the Appeal Committee, Senator Magoro assured that his committee would look into their appeals dispassionately and do justice to their complaints.

According to him, member of the 13 man committee were carefully selected and would deploy their reservoir of experience to treat the appeal with fairness.

He however urged those three aspirants coming to the appeal to approach the committee with open minds.

Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

%d bloggers like this: