Share this:

Like this:

Like Loading...
" />
Published On: Mon, Jun 23rd, 2014

Ekiti 2014: PDP, Anenih, commend Fayemi for conceding defeat

Share This

National Publicity Secretary, Chief OlisaMetuhBy Lawrence Olaoye

The leadership of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) yesterday commended the outgoing Ekiti state governor, Dr. Kayode Fayemi, for being magnanimous enough to clenched to defeat by the Governor-Elect, Ayodele Fayose.

The party, in a statement by its National Publicity Secretary, Chief Olisa Metuh, described his action as a rare show of patriotism and sportsmanship.

Similarly, the Chairman PDO Board of Trustees (BoT), Vhief Tony Anenih, also in a separate statement applauded Fayose on his election as governor of Ekiti State even as he commended Fayemi  Governorfor conceding to defeat.

 The PDP stated “This exceptional show of statesmanship has indeed earned Governor Fayemi the respect and admiration of Nigerians as a man of honour, a true democrat and a patriot.”

The statement said Governor Fayemi “exhibited the spirit of sportsmanship propagated and practiced by the PDP and President Goodluck Jonathan” even as it called on politicians in the country to “imbibe the same spirit and jettison all forms of bad loser’s syndrome especially ahead of the 2015 general elections.”

It said credit must be given to President Jonathan for his insistence on free, fair and credible election at all levels adding that it was on record that the PDP and the President had never hesitated in congratulating other parties and their candidates whenever they win in an election.

Thanking the people of Ekiti state and the entire nation for the massive support given to it, the PDP said its current leadership under the National Chairmanship of Ahmadu Adamu Muazu is “more than ever before, committed to ensuring transparent and credible primaries that will guarantee the emergence of only popular candidates for elections.”

Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

%d bloggers like this: