Share this:

Like this:

Like Loading...
" />
Published On: Tue, Jan 16th, 2018

Edo LG poll: Opposition parties pass ‘no confidence vote’ on Electoral C’ttee

Share This

By Osaigbovo Iguobaro, Benin

Opposition parties on Monday passed ‘no confidence vote’ on Edo state Independent Electoral Commission (EDSIEC), ahead of the forthcoming Local Government Areas election.
They faulted the view point of the electoral umpire for including Emmanuel Ehiabhi who is a member of the Commission, alleging that he (Ehiabhi) was a card carrying member of the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) in Igueben Local Government Area of the state.
The state Secretary of the Peoples Democratic Party, Felix Imoisili, led the debate on Monday when EDSIEC announced the release of its guidelines for the poll.
Imoisili, informed the stakeholders that Ehiabhi had decamped from Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) to APC before he was nominated to occupy the position of trust.
The EDSIEC chairman, Prof. Stanley Orobator, haven listened to all their grievances and complaints, promised to look into the allegation raised against one of the members of the commission. He promised that the elections would be free and fair.
Over six political parties were represented at stakeholders’ meeting held at the Commission office in Benin City, the Edo state Capital.
“I would like to assure you that the commission, as an unbiased umpire will provide a level playing field for all the contestants during the forthcoming local government elections in Edo State,” said the EDSIEC chairman.
“With the official announcement of the date for the elections, political parties can now proceed to hold their party primaries with a view to choosing candidate that would be nominated to contest the forthcoming local government elections. As for the issue raised against one of the EDSIEC member being a card carrying member of APC, the commission will look into the matter and deal with it precisely,” he assured.

Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

%d bloggers like this: