Share this:

Like this:

Like Loading...
" />
Published On: Fri, Jul 3rd, 2020

Edo guber: Ganduje leads APC 49-man war chest against PDP, Obaseki

Share This

  • Political contest between APC and South South Govs – Wike threatens

By Ikechukwu Okaforadi

The caretaker Committee of the All Progressive Congress (APC) has appointed the Kano state Governor, Umar Ganduje, to lead the forty nine man high level campaign Committee who will mobilise human and material resources to ensure the defeat of the incumbent Governor of Edo state, Godwin Obaseki, in the September election.
This is just as the Governor of Rivers state, Nyesom Wike, threatened that the Edo election is not about APC against Governor Obaseki, but against the people of the South-South and their Governors.
Speaking about the preparation of the South South Governors through his official Twitter handle, Governor Wike said: “There would be no intimidation in the Edo election, the people must choose who they want. All the South-South Governors would be in Edo State to support our brother Governor.
“Edo people rejected Ize Iyamu in the last election because they saw he wouldn’t be a good Governor. Edo election is not an Obaseki election but for the people of the South-South. It is time for the South-South to speak with one voice.”
Nevertheless, in a statement issued yesterday by the Deputy National Publicity Secretary of APC, Yekini Nabena, the party said Ganduje will chair the party’s high-level National Campaign Council for the Edo State Governorship Election.
Other members of the committee are: Governor of Imo State, Hope Uzodinma, who will serve as Deputy Chairman and Abbas Braimoh, who will serve as Secretary of the 49-member Campaign Council.
The statement said the selection followed the approval for the constitution of a National Campaign Council for the 19th September governorship election, by the National Chairman of the APC Caretaker/Extra-Ordinary National Convention Planning Committee, Mai Mala Buni.
The campaign council which will be inaugurated on Monday at the Party’s National Secretariat, has also as members, Ovie Omo-Agege, Gov. Inuwa Yahaya, Gov Yahaya Bello, Gov. Babajide Sanwo-Olu, John Odigie-Oyegun, Adams Oshiomhole, Aliyu Magatakarda Wamakko.
Others are Godswill Akpabio, Orji Uzor Kalu, Roachas Okorocha, Timipre Sylva, Pius Odubu, Sen. Degi Eremiemyo Biobaraku, Oserheimen A. Osunbor, Emmanuel Eweta Uduaghan, Sen. John Owan Enoh, E.J. Agbonayiman, Babachir Lawal, among others.

Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

%d bloggers like this: