Share this:

Like this:

Like Loading...
" />
Published On: Tue, Oct 23rd, 2018

Edo Deputy Speaker impeached, as Obaseki, Oshiomhole disagreements spill

Share This

By Osaigbovo Iguobaro, Benin

The deputy Speaker of Edo State house of Assembly, Victor Edoror, representing Esan Central constituency was on yesterday impeached by 16 members of the house.
To replace him, a former Speaker of the house, representing Igueben Constituency, Justin Edoror, was elected the deputy Speaker of the 24-member Assembly.
The unabated crisis over the soul of All Progressives Congress (APC) in the recently held party primaries consumed the deputy Speaker, a staunch loyalist of Adams Oshiomhole in the 6th Assembly.
The unresolved internal differences within the ruling party in the State, had pitted loyalists of the State governor, Godwin Obaseki and the national Chairman of the party, Comrade Adams Oshiomhole against themselves.
The alleged disagreements began with the ill-fated impeachment move by a former deputy Speaker of the house, Mr. Victor Sabor Edoror, who temporarily seized the house mace against the speaker of the house, Mr. Kabiru Adjoto.
Adjoto, who enjoys the support of the governor, had approached a Federal High Court to challenge the alleged substitution of his name for the incumbent member of House of Representatives, Hon. Peter Akpatason by the national leadership of the party.
Chief Whip of the House, Osaigbovo Iyoha (APC), representing Oredo East constituency moved the motion for the impeachment.
He said the deputy speaker was impeached over alleged misappropriation of funds, corruption and act of desperation tantamount to causing division in the house.
The motion was seconded by Emmanuel Agbaje, (APC), representing Akoko-Edo II.
Iyoha stated further that the the letter of impeachment was signed by 16 members of the House.
But efforts by the Foly Ogedengbe (APC), representing Owan East constituency to move counter-motion ended in vain as the speaker refused to recognize him.
Ogedengbe, however accused the Speaker of the House, Kabiru Adjoto (APC), representing Akoko-Edo I, of embezzling funds amounting to about N100 million belonging to the house.
The impeachment of the deputy speaker, was greeted with a rowdy session in the house while the embattled deputy speaker seized the mace of the house.
The Speaker of the House, Kabiru Adjoto, however announced the suspension of the impeached deputy speaker, Foly Ogedengbe and Gani Audu (APC), representing Etsako West I, for unruly behaviour for three months respectively.
The Speaker said a Committee has been set up to investigate the alleged misconduct the impeached deputy Speaker, Victor Sabor Edoror who was suspended indefinitely.
Mr. Gani Audu (Etsako West) and Foly Ogedengbe (Owan East) Constituencies were both slammed with three months suspension.
The Speaker, also commended the suspected thugs who invaded the hallowed chamber during plenary for standing up to defend democracy.
Roland Asoro, majority leader of the house nominated the former speaker of the house, Justine Okonobo, as the new deputy speaker and seconded by Emmnauel Agbaje.
Peoples Daily reports that there was tension in the Edo State House of Assembly on Monday
As early as 8 am the premises of the house had been taken over by combined armed security personnel made up of Department of State Security, mobile policemen and men of the Nigerian Security and Civil Defence Corps (NSCDC).
Besides, heft and fierce looking suspected political thugs positioned themselves at strategic locations within the premises.
It was gathered that the presence of the security personnel was to forestall possible breakdown of law and order.
But, the premises of the house was invaded and taken over by suspected political thugs who were armed with sticks after adjournment of plenary session by the lawmakers.
The thugs however had failed attempt to man-handled a lawmaker, Foly Ogedengbe.

Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

%d bloggers like this: