Share this:

Like this:

Like Loading...
" />
Published On: Wed, Apr 30th, 2014

Don’t ban commercial motorcyclists – APC warns Yero

Share This

From Femi Oyelola, Kaduna

The All Progressive Congress (APC) Kaduna State chapter has called on the Kaduna state Governor, Alhaji Muhktar Ramalan Yero, not to sign the bill banning commercial motorcyclists into law because far from improving security in the state, the law would compound it.

In a statement signed by the party’s interim chairman, Dr. Hakeem Baba-Ahmed added the law banning “Achaba” would worsen the state of unemployment and deepen poverty.

“It will impose huge suffering on millions of people whose livelihood depend on the availability of commercial motorcyclists, and will raise the cost of living in a state where economy is already in severe decline.

“While we support the need to take measures to improve security, we strongly advise that alternatives to commercial motorcycles should be provided by government first, and adequate measures taken to ensure that commercial motorcyclists are direct beneficiaries of these measures before the ban is imposed.

“All steps also need to be taken to ease potential hardship on users and entire economies which depend on availability of the facility,” he said.

Meanwhile, the Kaduna state House of Assembly have passed a Bill into law banning commercial motorcyclists in the state, to be effective in two weeks.

The passage of the Bill into law followed the motion moved on the floor of the house yesterday, by Yohanna Jatau, representing Jaba Constituency and seconded by member representing Makarfi, Hassan Jumare that the bill be passed into law as presented.

Speaking during the plenary session yesterday, the Deputy Speaker, Peter Usman stated that anybody who contravenes the provisions of the law shall be guilty of an offence and shall be liable upon conviction to a fine not exceeding 10, 000 naira or three (3) months imprisonment or both.

He added that for any subsequent offence, to a pay fine of not exceeding 20,000 naira or 6 months imprisonment or both.

Areas affected include: Kaduna township and environs of Kaduna North, Kaduna South, Chikun (areas of Unguwan Yelwa, Sabon-Tasha, Maraban Rido, Narayi to mention but few), Igabi LG (Rigasa, Mando and Rigachikun).

Others include Zaria township, that is parts of Zaria and Sabon Gari Local Government, Kafanchan township, excluding surrounding villages; parts of Lere, Birnin Gwari and Giwa Local Government areas.

Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

%d bloggers like this: