Share this:

Like this:

Like Loading...
" />
Published On: Thu, Dec 21st, 2017

Disobedience: Oba of Benin knocks 4 community leaders

Share This

By Osaigbovo Iguobaro Benin

The Oba of Benin, Oba Ewuare II has suspended four community heads for allegedly flouting the directive of the palace of the Monarch which is a taboo in Benin native laws and customs.
The Oba made the proclamation at Ogue-Emanton, palace ground.
A statement by Desmond Agbama, Chief Press Secretary to the Oba of Benin, which was made available to the Media on Wednesday, in Benin City.
The indefinite suspension, which barred the community head (Odionwere) of Egbirhe, Napoleon Oduware Omobude and three others were forthwith “suspended from functioning as leaders of the village by the Oba”.
In view of the circumstances, the Benin Monarch, Oba Ewuare II, directed the next-in-command at Egbirhe Community, Mr. Douglas Igbinidu to assume the position of the Odionwere with immediate effect.
The statement said Mr. Igbinidu was advised to join hands with Palace Chiefs to ensure peaceful and lasting resolution of the boundary dispute between Egbirhe and Okhoromi.
Igbinidu, is to be assisted by Chief Jolly Owie, Godwin Enodumenben Omorotionwman and Solomon Owie, according to the statement.

Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

%d bloggers like this: