Share this:

Like this:

Like Loading...
" />
Published On: Thu, Dec 11th, 2014

Delegates amend PDP Constitution, ratify Jonathan’s candidature

Share This

Jonathan-PDP-formBy Ahmed Abubakar

The Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) has amended its Constitution at the party’s special National Convention held between yesterday and early this morning, at the Eagle Square venue, in Abuja.

The chairman of the convention electoral panel, Senator Ken Nnamani said, with the development, section 33 sub-section 1 and section 47 sub-section 6 of the PDP Constitution stands amended.

Disclosing this earlier today, during the special convention held to ratify the president, Dr. Goodluck Jonathan, the party said that section 33 sub-section 1 of the PDP Constitution allows for all former PDP state governors to automatically become members of the party’s executive committee.

The party, which submitted forms to delegates at the convention, arrived at the decision to amend the party’s Constitution, having acquired a total of 2672 votes cast in support of the amendment, out of the 2,691 delegates at the convention.

Chairman of the convention electoral panel, Senator Ken Nnamani stated while declaring the results that: “our party’s Constitution has been amended.”

Earlier, Governor Gabriel Suswam, of Benue state, moved a motion seeking the amendment to the party’s Constitution and was seconded by Minister of State for power, Mohammed Wakil.

Similarly, the party has resolved to amend its manifesto for 2015 to 2019. Motion for the amendment was moved by PDP National Legal Adviser, Victor Ekwon and was seconded by the party’s national youth leader.

Meanwhile, President Goodluck Jonathan has been ratified as the PDP candidate in the February 2015 Presidential election.

This followed the affirmation of his earlier selection by various levels of the party machinery as its sole candidate.

A total od 2812 delegates voted ‘yes’ to Jonathan’s candidature to ratify the earlier endorsement.


Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

%d bloggers like this: