Share this:

Like this:

Like Loading...
" />
Published On: Wed, Oct 25th, 2017

Defunct CPC members in Edo task Buhari, Oyegun on internal democracy

Share This

By Osaigbovo Iguobaro, Benin

Edo state chapter of members of the defunct Congress for Progressives change (CPC), have tasked President Muhammadu Buhari and the national chairman of the All Progressives Congress (APC), John Odigie-Oyegun, on internal democracy.
This advice was contained in a petition by the former Vice Chairman (Edo Central senatorial district), Chief Solomon Enabo (former Secretary), Barrister Innocent Usifoh, the state legal Adviser; Alhaji Aliko Haruna (Ex-officio), representing Arewa and Mr. Daudu Momoh, (the state youth Leader of Buhari Youth Organisation), who were all members of the CPC, now defunct.
The group in the petition which was made available to journalists in Benin City, the state Capital, urged the leadership of the ruling pay to promote inclusiveness in all positions and wade – off vices that encourage disunity ahead of the 2019 general elections.
It however, condemned the removal of Edo state Publicity Secretary, Godwin Erhahon, for allegedly protesting six month unpaid allowances in November 2016, considering the selfless sacrifices they made which led to a peaceful merger deal in Edo state.
Recall that the merger comprising four political parties, namely, Action Congress of Nigeria (ACN), All Nigeria Peoples Party (ANPP), a faction of All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA) and CPC, merged and became APC during the prelude to the 2015 general election.
According to the group, “but, your continuous alienation of those of us from the CPC legacy in both governance and party structure, even in campaign activities, continue to serve as a painful and humiliating reminder that we are unwanted component in Edo APC.
“So, far, over 250 appointments have been made by the state governor, Godwin Obaseki since last year, to the exclusion of the former CPC legacy members”, the group said.

Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

%d bloggers like this: