Share this:

Like this:

Like Loading...
" />
Published On: Tue, Oct 20th, 2020

Candido disbands, replaces Taskforce with AMAC Marshal over abuses

Share This
The Chairman, Abuja Municipal Area Council (AMAC), Abudullahi Adamu Candido

The Chairman, Abuja Municipal Area Council (AMAC), Abudullahi Adamu Candido

By Stanley Onyekwere

The chairman, Abuja Municipal Area Council (AMAC), Hon. Abdullahi Adamu Candido yesterday disbanded the Council’s Taskforce, hitherto in charge of monitoring and enforcing road traffic bylaws, following incessant public outcry over their operations within the area.
Candido while announcing the disbandment at a townhall meeting organized by the FCT Council of the Nigeria Union of Journalists (NUJ), said its functions would be transferred to AMAC Marshal guards, a licenced private security outfit owned by the Council.
While noting that operatives of the disbanded task force had gone beyond the rules of engagement set out for them by the council, the AMAC Chairman apologised profusely for their indiscretions.
According to him, to avoid the mistakes of the past, the AMAC Marshal guards would be well trained in collaboration with Federal Road Safety Corps (FRSC), Directorate of Road Traffic Regulations (DRTS) before they will fully commence operations.
Earlier in his remarks, Chairman of the FCT Council of the NUJ, Comrade explained that the town hall meeting was not an attempt to witch-hunt the council, but was aimed at brainstorming on how to bring an end to the incessant harrassment of residents, including journalists, by the AMAC taskforce.
Our correspondent reports that the event which was chaired by a former Chairman of FCT Council of the NUJ, Mr Malachy Uzendu, also had in attendance the AMAC Vice Chairman, Lawrence Onuchukwu, to Council officials, Director, Department of Outdoor Advertisement and Signage (DOAS) in the FCT Administration, Dr Babagana Adam and FCT Commissioner of Police, Bala Ciroma who was represented.
Others were the FCT Sector Commander of the Federal Road Safety Corps FRSC, Ayuba Gora Wobin, Director Operations of the FCT DRTS, Mr Dele Yaro, Executive Director of CASER, Barr. Frank Tietie, representatives of various transport unions, members of the NUJ and the public.

Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

%d bloggers like this: