Share this:

Like this:

Like Loading...
" />
Published On: Thu, Dec 25th, 2014

CAF awards: Enyeama, Toure make top 3

Share This

Vincent-Enyeama-Nigeria-Super Eagles of Nigeria and Lille of France goalkeeper, Vincent Enyeama, three-time African Player of the year, Yaya Toure of English Club, Manchester City and Cote d’Ivoire and Gabonese Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang currently playing for Borussia Dortmund in Germany have made the top three of the 2014 African Player of the Year Award.

Confederation of African Football (CAF) yesterday in Cairo unveiled the top three nominees for the 2014 Glo-CAF African Footballer of the year Award which will be held in Lagos, Nigeria on 8 January, 2015.

The release of the top three players competing for the prized crown of African footballer of the year award heightened expectation across the continent on who would be the next King of African Football.

The king will be crowned at the Awards Night holding at the Convention Centre, Eko Hotel and Suites, Lagos on 8 January, 2015.

CAF also released the names of top three finalists for the Africa-based ‘Player of the Year’ Award. They include the duo of Akram Djahnit and El Hedi Belamieri of Algeria and ES Setif FC and Firmin Mubel Ndombe of Congo and AS Vita.

In the Women Player of the year category, Nigeria’s Asisat Oshoala and Desire Oparanozie were shortlisted long with Annette Ngo Ndom of Cameroon while Asisat Oshoala also made the top three of Youth Player of the Year alongside her Nigerian team mate Uchechi Sunday and Fabrice Ondoa of Cameroun.

The trio of Clinton Nj’jie and Vincent Abubakar from Cameroun and Yacine Brahimi from Algeria made the top three of the Most Promising Talent Award while Algeria, Libya and Nigeria were listed for National Team of the Year Award.

The list is prepared through a vigorous selection process by the Technical, Football and Media Committees of CAF, taking into account the performance of the players for their national teams and clubs from January to November of each year. The ultimate winner of the award will be decided by votes from the Head Coaches or the Technical Directors of the National Associations affiliated to CAF.


Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

%d bloggers like this: