Share this:

Like this:

Like Loading...
" />
Published On: Wed, Oct 22nd, 2014

BUK Alumni Association in FCT holds elections Saturday

Share This

By Stanley Onyekwere

All is now set for elections into the executive committee of the Federal Capital Territory (FCT) Chapter of the Alumni Association of the Bayero University Kano (BUK), this Saturday, October 25, in Abuja, the nation’s capital.

The election, scheduled for 10.00am on the said date, will take place inside the Auditorium of the National Human Rights Commission, in Maitama District, Abuja.

In a statement made available to Peoples Daily, the Chairman of the electoral committee organizing the election, Malam Abubakar Bello Abdullahi, revealed that judging by the caliber of the people who have so far picked the nomination forms, the electoral contest may be dominated by the younger alumni who have shown tremendous interest in offering their services.

Abdullahi noted that there is hope that committed, competent and resourceful persons would emerge from the election in order to direct the affairs of the Association for the next two years.

According to him, the offices being contested for are those of the chairman, vice chairman, secretary, assistant secretary, treasurer, financial secretary, auditor, legal adviser, public relations officer and welfare/social director respectively.

He therefore assured all BUK alumni of the neutrality of his committee throughout the electoral process, stressing that they were committed to a free and fair election.

The chairman added that the national executive committee of the Association was keen on ensuring that the entire chapters of the BUK Alumni Association in the 36 states and Abuja are activated, as soon as possible.

Also, he called on the highly placed Alumni of the university living and working in Abuja to show interest in the well-being of the Association.

To this end, he disclosed that his committee has arranged courtesy visits on some of them like the Permanent Secretary, Federal Ministry of Finance, Mrs. Daniella Nwaobia; Hajiya Jamila Tangaza of the Abuja Geographic Information Systems (AGIS); Dr Ado Muhammed of National Primary Health Care Development Agency (NPHCDA) ; Senators Ahmed Sani Yerima and Bashir Lado Garba; Honourables Alhassan Ado Doguwa, Hussein Namadi and Bashir Adamu, among others, who all graduated from BUK.


Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

%d bloggers like this: