Share this:

Like this:

Like Loading...
" />
Published On: Mon, Nov 24th, 2014

Buhari submits nomination form

Share This
  • …lambasts Police over NASS blockade

By Umar Muhammad Puma

In his bid to actualise his bid for the presidency, former head of state and a presidential aspirant on the platform of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Gen. Muhammadu Buhari (rtd) yesterday formerly submitted his Declaration of Interest and Nomination forms.

Buhari, who submitted the forms to the National Chairman of the party, Chief John Odigie-Oyegun at the National Secretariat of the party in Abuja, thanked the party leadership for making themselves available for the event.

The former Head of State criticized the unruly behavior of the Nigerian Police over the blockage of the National Assembly describing it as distressing.

“It is a distressing situation, where those who are supposed to protect the Constitution are the ones that are undermining it. The House Representative and Senate are sacred places; they shouldn’t go there as members of law enforcement agencies, much less fire teargas and harassing them. They are breaking down and undermining the Constitution and if they are doing that who is going to correct it?” he queried.

Meanwhile, the APC has inaugurated its governorship screening committee that will screen gubernatorial aspirants seeking to contest the forthcoming primary elections to be conducted at the six geographical zones of the country.

Inaugurating the committee, Oyegun explained that the committee for the North-Central zone will be chaired by Chief Olagunsoye Oyinlola, while Hadiza Bala Usman is to serve as the Secretary; Sen. Chris Ngige (Chairman); Engr. Tunji Obawule (Secretary),  North-West has Malam Bolaji Abdullahi (Chairman), Hon. Hamid Suleiman (Secretary); South-East has Chief Timipre Silva (Chairman), Hon. Dino Melaye (Secretary); South-South has Alhaji Tijjani Gwarzo (Chairman), Prince Nelson Ezegbueyi, while the South-West has Senator a Danjuma Goje (Chairman) and Barrister Ismail Ahmed as Secretary.

Chairman of the committee, John Oyegun, charged the committees to do proper documentations such that there will be no basis for disqualification of candidates and there will be no bases for litigation.

Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

%d bloggers like this: