Share this:

Like this:

Like Loading...
" />
Published On: Thu, Dec 21st, 2017

Buhari seeks confirmation of 9 INEC Commissioners

Share This

By Christiana Ekpa

President Muhammadu Buhari, has written to Senate, requesting for consideration and confirmation of 9 nominees as commissioners for the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).
Buhari’s request was contained in a letter dated 18th December 2017 and read by the Senate President, Bukola Saraki during Wednesday’s plenary.
President Buhari, in the letter urged the lawmakers to expeditiously consider and approve the nominations.
The letter reads: “In accordance with the provision of section 154(1)of the 1999 constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria (as amended) I write to forward herewith the names of nine (9) Resident Electoral Commission appointed for the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) for the consideration of the Senate of the Federal Republic of Nigeria”
The names are: Elder Monday Udoh Tom (Akwa Ibom), Baba Abba Yusuf, (Borno), Eric Olawale (Osun), Dr Uthman Abdulrahman Ajidagba (Kwara), Segun Agbaje (Ekiti), Cyril Omorogbe (Edo), Yahaya Bello (Nasarawa), Emmanuel Alex Hart (Rivers), and Mohammed Magaji Ibrahim, (Gombe).
“While thanking you immensely in anticipation of the early consideration and confirmation of the above appointments by the Senate, please accept, Mr Senate President, the assurances of my highest esteem.”
Meanwhile, the Senate has referred Buhar’s nominees Code of Conduct Bureau nominees to it committee on Ethics and Privileges to report back in 2 weeks.

Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

%d bloggers like this: