Share this:

Like this:

Like Loading...
" />
Published On: Thu, Jul 4th, 2019

Buhari rejects 17 more bills, signs nine others

Share This

By Ikechukwu Okaforadi and Musa Adamu

President Muhammadu Buhari in a letter to the senate has rejected additional 17 bills out of 318 passed by the eighth National Assembly.
Buhari however assented to Nine others also among the entire 318 bills passed 8th National Assembly.
The Senior Special Assistant to the President on National Assembly Matters (Senate), Senator Ita Enang, made this known to journalists yesterday.
Enang said the President decided not to communicate with the ninth Assembly on the rejections of those bills because the new Assembly cannot take any decision on those rejected bills.
He however promised to engage the leadership of both Chambers on the rationale behind the rejections of those bills.

He said the current Assembly cannot take action by way of commenting or overriding any of the rejected bills because the law forbade the lawmakers to do so.
The 17 rejected bills are Adeyemi Federal university of Education (Establishment) Bill, Federal University of Education Kano, Bill, Alvan Ikoku Federal University of Education Bill, Federal University of Education Zaria, Bill, National Security Agncies Protection of Officers Identity Bill, Federal Capital Territory Emergency Management Agency Bill, Environmental Managers Registration Council of Nigeria Bill.
Others are Industrial Development Income Tax Act Amendment Bill, Defence Research and Development Bureau Bill, Animal Diseases Control Bill, Good Samaritans Bill, Chattered Institute of Directors of Nigeria Bill, Naional Institute of Hospitality and Tourism Establishment Bill, Federal University of Wukari (Establishment) Bill, Warehouse Receipt and Other Related Matters Bill, Federal Capital Territory Health Insurance Agency Bill, Nigeria Automative Industry Development Plant Fiscal Inscentive and Guarantees Bill, Nigerian Film Commission Bill and Proceeds of Crime Bill.
The nine bills assented to by President Buhari are Police Trust Fund Act, Nigeria Natural Medicine Establishment Act, FCT Management Board and Health Insurance, Suppression of Piracy and other Maritime Defence Bill and Institute of Transport Administration of Nigeria Bill.
Others are National Institute of Construction Technology and Management (Establishment) bill, National Agricultural Seed Council bill, Agriculture Credit Guarantee Scheme Fund (Amendment), FCT Primary Healthcare Board.

Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

%d bloggers like this: