Share this:

Like this:

Like Loading...
" />
Published On: Thu, Jan 29th, 2015

Bird flu now in 11 states – FG

Share This
Bird Flu

Bird Flu

By Doyin Ojosipe

The Federal Government yesterday said the H5N1 influenza virus, also known as bird flu, is now present in 11 states in Nigeria.

The Minister of Agriculture and Rural Development, Dr. Akinwumi Adesina, who made the confirmation, added that the virus has spread to four other states apart from the seven states earlier reported on January 22, 2015.

He listed the states to include; Oyo, Jigawa, Gombe and Imo.

The minister said the total number of birds exposed had risen to 232,385 with 51,444 mortalities recorded.

Of all the states affected, he said Kano has the highest exposure rate of birds put at 136,905 with 17, 987 mortality rate, while Lagos State has 38, 845 with 4, 732 mortality rate.

Dr. Adesina also announced a compensation of N145.145million to 39 farmers in 11 affected states where depopulation has been carried out by the government.

The states are – Kano, Lagos, Ogun, Rivers, Delta, Edo, Plateau, Gombe, Imo, Oyo, and Jigawa.

He said that N1, 450 will be paid per bird in the farms that have been depopulated.


Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

%d bloggers like this: