Share this:

Like this:

Like Loading...
" />
Published On: Wed, Jul 25th, 2018

Benue Speaker, Ikyange impeached as Ahubi takes over

Share This

From Uche Nnorom, Makurdi

Speaker of Benue State House of Assembly Terkimbir Ikyange was yesterday impeached by 22 out of 30 members of the house.
The impeachment was hurriedly carried out by the members said to be loyal to Governor Samuel Ortom.
The members came through the back of the Assembly Complex, which shares fence with Government House, and in less than 45 minutes concluded the sitting that was presided over by the former minority leader, Sule Audu representing Agatu State Constituency.
Motion for the impeachment was moved by Richard Ujege, representing Konshisha constituency and seconded by Anthony Ogbu, representing Ado constituency.
During the sitting, Titus Uba, APC, representing Kyan Vandeikya Constituency emerged Speaker while Johnson Egli Ahubi, PDP is deputy speaker.
Other new principal officers of the assembly include, majority leader Avine Agbom of the APC, representing Makurdi North who defected to the PDP; Sule Audu, PDP, deputy Majority leader and Kester Ikenge, PDP, representing Logo as Chief Whip.
Addressing newsmen after the sitting, the new speaker explained that the action was done to protect the image of the 8th Assembly, adding that it was as a result of high handednes by the impeached speaker.
It should be noted that the House only last week went on recess and was bid to resume on August 15, 2018.

Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

%d bloggers like this: