Share this:

Like this:

Like Loading...
" />
Published On: Thu, May 31st, 2018

Bayelsa APC stakeholders disown Sylva, Lokpobiri

Share This

By Umar Muhammad Puma

All Progressives Congress (APC), stakeholders in Bayelsa State have distanced themselves from the parallel Congresses held in the state by the former Governor of the state, Timipre Silva, and Minister of State for Agriculture, Heineken Lokpobiri.
Addressing journalists at the National secretariat of the APC in Abuja, the Bayelsa APC stakeholders said that the parallel congresses were the handiwork of former Governor of the state, Chief Diepreye Sylva and Minister of State for Agriculture, Hon. Heineken Lokpobiri.
Leader of the group, Nestor Ibinabo, accused the two party chieftains of flouting regulations of the party by onducting parallel Congresses in their private homes where they claimed names of persons of their choices were compiled as elected.
“We have come to confer with the party leadership. You are aware that ward, local government and state congresses were held. In Bayelsa, the congresses conducted by the panel sent to the state held which produced Joseph Fafi, the incumbent chairman of the party in the state.
“Parallel Congresses we heard, were also held. And in a situation like this, as stakeholders, we felt we should come and let the party know at the national level. For us, we don’t have any factional chairman of APC in Bayelsa; we know of Fafi, it is only the Congress Fafi attended that is the authentic.
“We have not come to lay complaint or address grievances. We have come to say that what the Congress committee did in Bayelsa State in respect of the ward, local government and state congresses was the right thing” stated Ibinabo.
The delegation had Amb Kenneth Oboro, Dr Stella Dogu, former House of representatives, House of Assembly members, APC chairmen of six out of the eight local government areas of Bayelsa.

Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

%d bloggers like this: