Share this:

Like this:

Like Loading...
" />
Published On: Wed, Nov 6th, 2019

Appeal Court upholds Omo-Agege election

Share This

By Osaigbovo Iguobaro, Benin

The Appeal Court sitting in Benin has upheld the election of the Deputy Senate President, Omo-Agege Ovie, representing Delta Central Senatorial District.
Chairman of the three-man panel, Justice Jaro Adamu, on Monday dismissed the appeal filed by Evelyn Oboro and and her party, People’s Democratic Party (PDP) for lack of merit.
The petitioner had earlier filed a petition at the Election Petition Tribunal on the grounds of alleged disqualification and non-compliance to the provisions of the 2010 Electoral Act as amended and declared the respondents, Omo-Agege of the All Progressives Congress as winner of the election held on the 23rd of February 2019.
The petitioners were not satisfied with the judgement and decided to appeal the verdict of the Election Petition Tribunal that affirmed the victory of Omo-Agege as winner of the Delta Central Senatorial seat in the National Assembly election.
Evelyn Oboro of the People’s Democratic Party who was not satisfied with the tribunal’s verdict instituted an appeal challenging the declaration of Omo-Agege (APC) by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), as winner of the general election held in February.
In a related development, the appeal court also dismissed the appeal filed by Joel Onovwakpor (APC) against the member representing Isoko Federal Constituency, Leo ogor (PDP)
Joel had earlier approached the court on the grounds that the election was marred with electoral irregularities.
In his ruling, they resolved against the appellant and delivered judgement in favour of the respondents.
Similarly, the justices struck out the appeal filed by the former speaker of Delta State House of Assembly, Monday Igbuya (APC) against the current member representing Okpe/Uvwie and Sapele federal constituency, Efe Afe (PDP).

Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

%d bloggers like this: