Share this:

Like this:

Like Loading...
" />
Published On: Wed, Sep 30th, 2020

Anambra State FA Caretaker Committee Chairman Resigned

Share This

By Amaechi Agbo

The Anambra State Football Association Caretaker Committee chairman, Dr. Chukwuemeka Okeke has resigned his position two months after his appointment.
However, sources close to the former caretaker chairman told this paper that Mr Okeke reigned to recontest the Anambra State FA election.
It could be recalled that in the earlier election conducted for the ANSFA Board, Mr Okeke got two votes to lose to eventual winner, Ifenayi Ubah who was re-elected for another term in office
The Nigeria Football Federation, NFF on August 5th 2020 set up the caretaker committee to run the affairs of the ANSFA for three months.
The constitution of the caretaker committee comes after the NFF had declared the election where Ubah was re-elected as Chairman of the Anambra FA for another term of four years on July 27, as “an act of brigandage.”
With five weeks left for the expiration of their mandate, the caretaker chairman has resigned.
A source close to the committee told this paper in confidence, “I can tell you confidently that the chairman resigned in order to recontest the election.
“But what is a sign of concern is why the NFF appointed somebody who contested for an election and lost to head the committee.
“Even at that, with conflict of interest, Mr Okeke should not have accepted the responsibility Ab initio. But what can one expect in a system of this nature?” the source queried.
Other members of the caretaker committee include: Mr. Victor Nwangwu – Vice Chairman; Mr. Nonso Philip, Mrs Charity Ebere Okonkwo, Mrs Onyeabo Chimezie Success and Mr Onyedika Chijioke – Secretary
Meanwhile ahead of the new ANSFA election expected to be held any time soon, Rev. Fr. Coach Obinna Dike has been appointed Chairman of the Electoral Committee after the resignation of Comrade Jude Anyadufu.
The new ANSFA election is expected to hold on or before November 2, 2020

Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

%d bloggers like this: