AMAC emerges FCT Perm. Sec. U13 Champions

AMAC team and officials with the diadem and medals after the final match

By Amaechi Agbo

Abuja Municipal Area Council, AMAC, has emerged champions of the maiden edition of this year’s Permanent Secretary of FCT Administration Inter-Area council U-13 Football championship.
AMAC defeated Abaji Area Council 1-0 to clinch the coveted trophy.
The lone goal of the final played on Saturday at the Area 10 Old Parade Ground, Abuja, was scored in 53rd minute by Istifanus Timnan who also emerged the highest goal scorer in the competition with four goals.
In the third-place match, Gwagwalada Area Council won the bronze trophy after overcoming their Bwari Area Council opponents 5-4 on penalties after 0-0 in regulation time.
On their way to final AMAC defeated Kuje Area council 3-1, beat Bwari Area Council 2-1 in the semi-final which qualified them for the final. All the six Area councils in FCT participated in the inaugural Permanent Secretary Inter-Area Council U-13 football tournament.
On how his team was able to clinch the trophy on the fist asking, AMAC Head of Sports, Dauda Pascal Dogo, said the result was an outcome of many years of planning, adding that AMAC had last year organised inter-primary schools competition which made the selection of players a lot easier. The Head of Sports said that the players were selected across seven different schools in the council.
In a related development, Young Tigers FC emerged the champions of 2017 Abuja Municipal Area Council Chairmanship tournament. The lads from Gwarinpa defeated Karshi Hawks to emerge champions on the final day of the competition whereas Unity Academy won the 3rd place match after defeating Theolasi FC in the 3rd place match.
For emerging champions, Young Tigers got N200, 000 prize money with additional N100, 000 donation from a sports fan and football lover, Tankor Yamahwo, Executive Coordinator, Federal Capital Development Authority, FCDA. Karshi Hawks got N150, 000 cash reward with additional N50, 000 from Mr Yamahwo while Unity Academy was rewarded with N100, 000 plus N30, 000 donations.
Other awards such as highest goal scorer and most valuable player were given to deserving players. Haruna Wale of Unity Academy won the highest goal scorer award with a reward of N50, 000 and a pair of boots. Eje Joseph of Karshi Hawks won the Most Valuable Player award with the sum of N30, 000 rewards in addition to a pair of football boots. The best goalkeeper award went to Husain Ahmed of Young Tigers with N10, 000 and hand glove. Theolasi FC won the most disciplined team award. The team had only a yellow card during the competition. They were giving sets of boots.
AMAC Chairman Tournament is an annual competition contested for by clubs and teams within the FCT. Preparation for 2018 edition of the tournament is in top gear as the organisers have promised bumper rewards for the winner of the trophy this year. The date of the tournament will be communicated in due course.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *