Share this:

Like this:

Like Loading...
" />
Published On: Mon, Apr 1st, 2019

Abuja shippers association gets new executives

Share This

By Albert Akota

Abuja Shippers Association under the auspices of the Nigerian Shippers Council (NSC) has elected new executives to run the activities of the association.
The election was conducted at the NSC office in Abuja.
In his opening remarks, the Executive Secretary of the Nigerian Shippers’ Council (NSC) Barr. Hassan Bello said the Council was the nation’s port economic regulator.
He said that the Council was committed to creating an enabling environment for shippers, service providers and users at the ports.
Bello, who was represented by the Abuja Laison Officer, Mohammed Abubakar noted that the new executives must take the drive in ensuring that the association function effectively and tackle all depending challenges in the sector.
“We are committed in creating a platform to address the challenges shippers and other stakeholders face in the sector.
“But we have discovered as regulators that shippers themselves don’t comply with rules and regulations which is the major challenge we are having.
“We will ensure that meetings are held on a regular basis to interact with stakeholders through this platform and resolve issues affecting freight.”
Also speaking, the President of National Freight Haulers Association, Mr Jackson Bent applauded the Nigerian Shippers’ Council for playing a ‘pivotal’ role in both the transport and Maritime sector.
He said that the country was drifting away from oil stating that freight is one of the prospective aspects that can drive the economy aside mining and agriculture.
“I have to commend NSC for is commitment to this association, for the advancement in bringing shippers council to where it is today and the repositioning efforts to the economy of this country.
“I want to bring to our notice that what we are doing today is of utmost importance. I therefore urge all of us to broaden our mind in moving the association forward.”

Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

%d bloggers like this: