Share this:

Like this:

Like Loading...
" />
Published On: Thu, Apr 18th, 2019

9th Assembly: Buhari hosts APC Reps elect as party vows not to repeat past mistakes

Share This

…Oshiomhole insists no juicy c’ttees chairmanship for opposition
…says Saraki, Dogara greedy, selfish

By Lawrence Olaoye

President Muhammadu Buhari yesterday played host to the newly elected members of the House of Representatives on the platform of the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) at the Presidential Villa.
The National Chairman of the party, Comrade Adams Oshiomhole, in his opening remarks told the President that the party leadership had resolved not to repeat the mistakes of the last in the choice of the leadership of the National Assembly.
Oshiomhole said he met with the incoming lawmakers about three weeks ago and got their commitments that they would work together to ensure the delivery of the promises made by the President during the campaigns.
The party chairman also insisted that no strategic of ‘juicy’ committee chairmanship to the opposition members because members of the ruling party are in clear majority at the parliament.
According to him, the APC has clear majority of 223, with 67 of them returning as ranking members, and therefore have the capacity to produce chairmen and even deputies for all the over 90 committees.
On the selection of the leadership of the House, Oshiomhole said the members would meet and choose anyone of them to positions of leadership at their caucus.
He clarified that the party had no intention of having a rubber stamp parliament but would engage in constructive criticisms of government policies without jeopardizing the overall interest of the nation.
Oshiomhole said “If you are elected, it means you are tested and trusted.
“The NWC had a meeting with reps elect, three weeks ago and it was very revealing, their interventions is a clear confirmation that Nigerians did not make mistake by elected them. They deep knowledge of the constitution would confused many that they were not first timers but seasoned lawmakers. They all on their own speaker after speaker, across the zone, pledged to work together for PMB to leave him, landmark foundation for a new Nigeria.
I am confident that this time around, they are very hungry Nigerians ready to deliver on the mandates at the campaigns.”
He described the present leadership of the National Assembly as hostile, they created tension in the system, delayed budget needlessly, and created all obstacles to frustrate the government.
“In life mistakes are permitted but it becomes a problem if the mistake is repeated twice. We are determined not to repeat the mistakes of 2015 in 2019, we have learnt our lesson.
“Out of 223 APC elected members, about 67 were re-elected, the rest are new members.
“In other climes, you don’t go into coalition when you are in the majority, you do so when you don’t have the numbers. We have the numbers, out of 306, Nigerians elected 223 APC members because they don’t want Mr. president to face the trauma of 2015.
Most of those who decamped were rejected and even those who led it were uprooted. We cannot as a party which has a comfortable majority, entrust critical committees in the hands of the PDP or opposition.
If Nigerians wanted them, they could have voted them. In the days of PDP, every committee were chaired by PDP members.”
“Saraki, Dogara areselfish, greedy. We do not need to do business with the devil for us to survive in the ninth Assembly.
In African family, we sit down in a closed door to address issues, the good news is that there is a role for everyone.
Neither mr president nor the party expects the National Assembly to be rubber stamps, we don’t have rubbers…But we will not fight in Wuse market.
Both the re-elected and new members are entitled to heading committees We have asked our people not to share what belongs to us with other party members. I don’t have apologies against forces of retrogression.”

Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

%d bloggers like this: