5 Reps, 3 Assembly men dump opposition for PDP in Anambra

By Lawrence Olaoye

Five members of the House of Representatives and three members of Anambra state Assembly yesterday formerly dumped opposition parties for the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

Those who left the opposition parties in the state officially joined the ruling party at a brief ceremony chaired by the PDP National Chairman, Dr. Ahmadu Adamu Mu’azu, held at the party’s Legacy House yesterday.

The defecting members of the House of Representatives include Uche Ekwunife (APGA); Afam Ogene (APGA); Cyril Egwatu (APGA), Chris Azubogu (APGA) and Charkes Odedo of the APC.

The three other members of the state Assembly who dumped the opposition parties for the ruling party include John Olibiye (APGA); Idu Emeka (Accord) and Emeka Enahu of the Labour Party.

Mu’azu who welcomed the decampees into the party assured them that they would not be treated as new members but would be given equal opportunities as the old members.

The party’s National Chairman enjoined them to always be close to the grassroots pointing out that his closeness to the people at the grassroots helped him in winning elections twice as the governor of Bauchi state.

He said the PDP remains the only national party under which their political ambitions could be realized because of its sheer size and spread across the country.


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *