Share this:

Like this:

Like Loading...
" />
Published On: Thu, Dec 11th, 2014

3,073 Delegates ratify Mu’azu as PDP Chairman

Share This

ADAMU-MUAZUBy Ahmed Abubakar

No fewer than 3,073 delegates from across the 36 states of the Federation including Abuja have ratified the embattled Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) Chairman, Alhaji Adamu Mu’azu as the party’s substantive chairman.

The ratification of Mu’azu as the party’s substantive National Chairman has now, based on the party’s constitution, paved the way for the ratification of President Goodluck Jonathan as the party’s candidate today (Thursday) at a grand convention rally at the Eagle Square, Abuja.

Peoples Daily at the convention reports that the entire routes leading to the Eagle Square, the venue of the convention has been cordoned by heavily armed security operatives that apart from sealing the routes from all vehicular movements also conduct thorough search on people attending the ceremony.

Heavy traffic was recorded around the Abuja central area due to the secured routes a situation that forced motorists attending the ceremony to forcefully abandon their vehicles at strategic places and to trek for kilometres before arriving at the venue.

The programme which was scheduled to start at 2 pm could not start till 5.25 pm despite the arrival of the President and other top party members.

The ratification of Alhaji Adamu Mu’azu heralded the commencement of the ceremony of also the ratification of President Jonathan by popular acclamation of the delegates present.

Mu’azu was appointed as acting chairman of the party after the resignation of Alhaji Bamanga Tukur in January this year alongside the PDP National Secretary, Prof. Wale Oladipo together with the National Auditor, Wale Adeyanju respectively.

President Goodluck Jonathan flanked by his wife, Dame Patience Jonathan, Vice President Arch. Namadi Sambo, Senate president David Mark, deputy Speaker, Emeka Ehidioha, State Governors and other top politicians collectively moved to the designated voting centres at exactly 6.18 pm to cast their votes for their support of the PDP Chairman and other executives as well.


Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

%d bloggers like this: