Share this:

Like this:

Like Loading...
" />
Published On: Tue, Mar 18th, 2014

25 new judges for Appeal Court

Share This

Court-and-justice-scale-580x340By Sunday Ejike Benjamin

President Goodluck Jonathan has approved the appointment of 25 Justices for the Court of Appeal.

A statement by the Acting Director, Information of the National Judicial Council (NJC), Mr Soji Oye said the appointment followed the recommendation of the council, headed by the Chief Justice of Nigeria (CJN), Justice Mariam Aloma Mukhtar.

According to the statement, the appointment is in line with the new Court of Appeal (Amendment) Act which increased the number of justices of the court from 70 to 90 and the vacancies which were occasioned by the demise, retirement and elevation of some justices of the court to the Supreme Court.

The justices will be sworn-in by the CJN on Monday, 24th March, 2014 at 12 noon in the Supreme Court of Nigeria.

The new appeal court justices are: Justices Hamma Akawu Barka (Gombe State), Joseph Jude Jella (Taraba State), Bitrus G. Sanga (Bauchi State), Muhammed Mustapha (Borno State),Yargata Nimpar (Gombe State), Sa’idu Tanko Hussein (Kogi State), Mudashiru N. Oniyangi (Kwara State) and Amina Audi Wambai (Niger State).

Others are Justices Ridwan Maiwada Abdullahi (Nasarawa State), Tani Y. Hassan (Kano State), Muhammed Lawal Shuaibu (Jigawa State), Kadi Musa Hassan Alkali (Kaduna State), Jamilu Y. Tukur (Katsina State), Paul Obi Elechi (Ebonyi State) and Ugochukwu A. Ogakwu (Enugu State).

Justices Nonyerem Okoronkwo (Imo State), Joseph E. Ekanem (Akwa Ibom State), F.E. Oho (Delta State), Abimbola O.O. Adejumo (Edo State) Justices Bolokuromo M. Ugo (Bayelsa State), Biobele A. Georgewill

(Rivers State), 22 . Oludotun A. Adefope-Okojie (Ogun State), Misitura O. Bolaji-Yusuf (Oyo State), J.O.K.Oyewole (Osun State) and O.E. Williams-Dawudu (Lagos State) also made the list.

Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

%d bloggers like this: