Share this:

Like this:

Like Loading...
" />
Published On: Sun, Dec 7th, 2014

2015: Gov Shettima emerges APC candidate unopposed

Share This

From Mustapha Isah Kwaru, Maiduguri

Governor Kashim Shettima of Borno State at the weekend emerged as the candidate of the All Progressives Congress, (APC) for the 2015 Governorship elections.

Governor Shettima clinched the candidature unopposed having being affirmed by 4,520 delegates during the governorship and state assmbly primary elections held at the Ramat Sport complex in Maiduguri

The delegates who took part primaries, represented all the wards across the 27 local government areas of the state, which was monitored by a team from the Independent Electoral Commission, (INEC) led Professor Tukur Sa’ad, the Resident Electoral Commissioner in Borno State.

Four officials from the APC national headquarters led by one time National Secretary of the collapsed All Nigeria Peoples Party, ANPP, Alhaji Sani Elkatuzu, who chaired the team for Borno State Governorship primaries.

Screened delegates began arriving the sports centre at about 2pm and the elections held for about two hours, from 6pm to 8pm.

Our correspondent reported that Shettima was the sole candidate of the party as aspirants had stepped down for him days before the primaries after National and State Assembly members purchased re-election forms and presented to the governor about two weeks ago with party leaders and members endorsing him.

During the primaries on all the delegates accepted Shettima by affirmation with none opposing the his choice after their consent was sorted in line with the APC guidelines.

Officials of the INEC and the APC national headquarters commended the conduct of the primaries which held peacefully.

Prior to the primaries, contests were held to elect candidates for the State House of Assembly for Bama, Gwoza, Damboa and Jere State constituencies.

Similarly, Candidates emerged after voting while for the remaining 24 assembly seats, sole candidates were affirmed by delegates.

Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

%d bloggers like this: