Share this:

Like this:

Like Loading...
" />
Published On: Tue, Dec 16th, 2014

10 Reps defect to APC, PDM

Share This

House of Representatives reps logoBy Umar Muhammad Puma

Following the outcome of the party primaries nationwide, five members of the ruling Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in the House of Representatives yesterday defected from their party to the opposition All Progressives Congress (APC) and the Peoples Democratic Movement (PDM) respectively.

 The lawmakers that defected to the APC include Rep Ibrahim Tukur E-lsudi, (Taraba), Rep Jagaba Adam Jagaba (Kaduna), Rep Heman Hambe (Benue), Rep Isa Hassan, (Bauchi), while Rep Aisha Ahmed Dahiru defected to the Peoples Democratic Movement (PDM).

 Announcing the defections during plenary yesterday, Speaker of the House of Representatives, Aminu Waziri Tambuwal said the five members who were elected under the platform of PDP have decided to join APC and the PDM as a result of the problems in their party.

 Similarly, five members of the All Progressives Congress APC have also defected from the party to the Social Democratic Party (SDP), including Rep Babatunde Ogunola, Rep Adayemi Adekunle, Rep Olumide Babatunde Osoba Rep Abdul-Bologun Abiodum and Rep Braimoh Bulanola Taofeek all from Ogun State.

 With this defection, the PDP is still in control of the majority seats with 174, while the APC has 160 as against their earlier numbers of 161. The Labour Party, Accord and APGA share the remaining 26 seats.

 Meanwhile, the Speaker of the House of Representatives, Aminu Waziri Tambuwal has presided over yesterday’s plenary without hitch as all the lawmakers cooperated and no motion was raised for his removal as earlier speculated.

Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

%d bloggers like this: