Share this:

Like this:

Like Loading...
" />
Published On: Thu, Nov 30th, 2017

10 Ex-Govs to receive “Three Star Golden” award on leadership

Share This

By Ochiaka Ugwu

Transparency Centre Network may have concluded plans to honour 10 former governors that distinguished themselves in the service of humanity and the nation with a “Three- Star Gold” Leadership honour.
The Coordinator of the Centre, Comrade Umar Faruk, said in Abuja that the Centre in collaboration with FCT Correspondents of the Nigerian Union of Journalists will be honouring the past Governors, both present and past serving Ministers and Senators of the Federal Republic of Nigeria who have distinguished themselves in the Leadership of the Nation.
Comrade Faruk, who said that after careful observation and study of the leadership composition of the country, there are those who in their lifetime served the nation in various capacities such as Governors, Ministers, Senators in the National Assembly, noting that the positions are rare to come by.
Listing the expected honourees, Comrade Faruk said these 10 rare-gems are Gen Ike Nwachukwu (Rtd) who served the nation as Military Governor of Imo State, Minister of Foreign Affairs and Senator that represented Abia North.
Also in the list is a serving Minister of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, Dr Chris Ngige, who also served Anambra as governor and Senator for Anambra Central. Among those to be honoured also include the immediate past Senate President, Senator David Mark who is still representing Benue South Senatorial District in the National Assembly and had served the nation as Military Administrator, Niger State and Minister of Communications during the Military era.
Others are Senator Liyel Imoke, the immediate past Governor of Cross River. He was a senator representing Cross River Central in the ill-fated third Republic and later Minister of Power and Steel. Dr Sam Omiyi Egwu of Ebonyi State, who served the country as Executive Governor, Minister of Education and today still serving as the Senator of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, representing Ebonyi North. Senator Jim Ifeanyichukwu Nwobodo who served as Executive Governor of old Anambra State, Minister of Youths and Sports and a front line Senator that represented Enugu East.
Senators Danjuma Goje, Rabiu Musa Kwankwaso, Mohammed Adamu Aliero , Abdullahi Adamu also made the list having served Nigeria as governors, ministers at different times and now senators of the federal republic.
Also speaking, General-Secretary of the Centre, Anayo Okafor emphasized that the event is going to be a Maiden Quadrennial Honour and will be the first of its kind in nation’s history.
He said is going to be once in every four years considering that it is a rare honour for political leaders in the country, adding that in view of that, a book chronicling the activities of these Golden Leaders will be presented during the occasion.
He used the medium to hint that in first quarter of next year, the Centre with African Leaders will honour President Muhammadu Buhari (GCFR), and former President Olusegun Obasanjo for their outstanding positions and meritorious services to the nation.

Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

%d bloggers like this: