Share this:

Like this:

Like Loading...
" />
Published On: Thu, Feb 7th, 2019

10 days to presidential poll, IG redeploys AIGs, CPs

Share This

L-R: Acting Inspector general of Police, Mr. Mohammed Abubakar Adamu decorating the newly promoted Assistant inspector general of Police, Mr. Ibrahim Larmode assisted by Former inspector general of Police, Alhaji Aliyu attah, at the force headquarters, yesterday in Abuja. Photo: Mahmud Isa

*As INEC upbeat on free, fair exercise

* PDP threatens to withdraw from peace accord

By Tobias Lengnan Dapam and Lateef Ibrahim

Barely ten days to the presidential election, the Ag. Inspector General of Police, M.A Adamu has ordered the redeployment of senior police officers to zones, formations and commands nationwide.
This just as the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has assured of free and fair elections.
However, the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) has threatened to pull out of the national peace accord it entered into with other political parties in the country few weeks ago.
The IGP in a statement issued Thursday by the Force PRO, Frank Mba, said the IG charges the AIGs and CPs to diligently and professionally discharge their duties according to the laws, rules and regulations of the Federal Republic of Nigeria.
The full list of the posting as contained in the statement is as follows: AIG Wilson A. Inalegwu – AIG Zone 9, Umuahia, AIG Abdul Dahiru Danwawo – AIG Maritime, AIG Adeyemi O. Ogunjemilusi, mni – Directing Staff NIPPS, AIG Maurice A. Yusuf – AIG Research and Planning, AIG Ibrahim Lamorde, mni – AIG Force Intelligence Bureau, AIG Murtala Mani, mni – AIG FORCE CID, AIG Tijani Baba – AIG Zone 7, Abuja, AIG Dibal Yakadi, mni – AIG Zone 5, Benin, AIG Haruna Huzi Mshelia, mni – AIG Zone 3, Yola, AIG Mohammed Mustapha – AIG Zone 10 Sokoto, AIG Musa A. Kimo – AIG Zone 6, Calabar, AIG Adeleye Olusola Oyebade, mni – AIG Zone 11, Osogbo, AIG Basen Dapiya Gwana – AIG Zone 12, Bauchi, AIG Karma Hosea Hassan – AIG Staff College, Jos, AIG Folawiyo David, mni – AIG Training & Development, AIG Zana Ibrahim, mni – Commandant POLAC Kano, AIG Chris Ezike – AIG Zone 4, Makurdi and AIG Moses A. Jitiboh, mni – AIG Investment, FHQ
Others are CP Mu’azu Zubairu – CP Lagos State Command, CP Ahmed Iliyasu – CP Ogun State Command, CP Mohammed Wakili – CP Kano State Command, CP Austin Iwero Agbonlahor – CP Cross River Command, CP Damian Chukwu – CP Borno Command, CP Sumonu Abdulmalik – CP Yobe Command, CP Asuquo Amba – CP Ekiti Command, CP Abiodun Ige – CP Osun Command, CP Ibrahim Sabo – CP Niger Command, CP Alkasim Sanusi – CP Taraba State, CP Garba M. Mukaddas – CP Adamawa Command, CP Omololu Bishi – CP Benue Command, CP Bola Longe – CP Nasarawa Command, CP Isaac Akinmoyede – CP Plateau Command and CP Aminu I. Saleh – CP Bayelsa Command.
Also redeployed are CP Adeleke Yinka – CP Delta Command, CP Bashir Makama – CP Akwa-Ibom Command, CP Awosola Awotunde – CP Ebonyi Command, CP Belel Usman – CP Rivers Command, CP Bello Makwashi – CP Gombe Command, CP Abdulrahman Ahmed – CP Kaduna Command, CP Bala Ciroma – CP FCT Command, CP Akeem Busari – CP Kogi Command, CP Galadinchi Dasuki – CP Imo Command, CP Suleiman Balarabe – CP Enugu Command, CP Dandaura Mustafa – CP Anambra Command, CP Etim Ene Okon – CP Abia Command, CP Ibrahim Kaoje – CP Sokoto Command, CP Celestine Okoye – CP Zamfara Command, CP Garba Danjuma – CP Kebbi Command, and CP Undie Andie – CP Ondo Command.
Similarly redeployed are; CP Olukolu Sina – CP Oyo Command, CP Ali Janga – CP Bauchi Command, CP Rabiu Ladodo – CP Jigawa Command, CP Buba Sanusi – CP Katsina Command, Ag. CP Egbetokun Kayode – CP Kwara Command and Ag. CP Odumosu Akeem – CP Edo Command
On free and fair elections, INEC has assured that it will not fail in delivering credible elections to the nation.
The Chairman of the Commission, Mahmood Yakubu gave the assurance on Wednesday while receiving a delegation of the ECOWAS Election Observation Mission in Nigeria, led by the immediate past President of Liberia, Ellen Sirleaf Johnson at the INEC headquarters in Abuja.
“We are aware that the world is watching Nigeria. Let me assure you that the polls will be free, fair and credible”, he said.
In her comments, the Head of delegation and former Liberian President, Dr Sirleaf Johnson pointed out that Nigeria’s election is very important to Africa and the entire world because of Nigeria’s contribution to development of democracy across the continent.
Meanwhile, the leading opposition party based its threat on the latest comments by the Governor of Kaduna state, Mallam Nasir el-Rufai, where he allegedly declared that foreign election observers who interfered in Nigeria forthcoming elections will return to their countries in body bags.
The National Publicity Secretary of PDP, Mr Kola Ologbondiyan, who issued the warning at a press conference in Abuja, also called on the international community to immediately impose a travel ban on el-Rufai for the comment which they said is against peaceful elections in our country.
The party equally rejected the plot to redeploy, a former Chief Security Officer to APC leader, Asiwaju Bola Tinubu, CP Kayode Egbetokun, as Kwara State Commissioner of Police.
It will be recalled that El-Rufai, while speaking on Tuesday Live, a late-night programme on the NTA, was quoted to have warned foreign countries to steer clear of the internal affairs of Nigeria.”
El-Rufai condemned the petitions sent to the US, the UK, the EU, Germany and France by the opposition, calling on the foreign countries to prevail upon Buhari not to derail the nation’s democracy.
While however reacting yesterday, the PDP said the comments, threats and incendiary actions by the All Progressives Congress (APC) and the Buhari Presidency, have been directly inimical to a peaceful, free and fair election.
According to Ologbondiyan, “The PDP is left with no option than to consider a review of its signatory in the national peace accord, if no action is immediately taken to curb this trend.”

Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

%d bloggers like this: